Organizations and Agencies

HELP US IMPROVE THIS LIST. ADD SUGGESTIONS AT THE BOTTOM OF THE PAGE. THANKS!

 

Local and Regional Sites: Faith-Based

Baltimore Presbytery Creation Care Group http://www.creationcarebaltimore.com/

Baltimore Jewish Environmental Network http://www.bjen.org/

Interfaith Power and Light of Maryland, Washington and Northern Virginia www.gwipl.org

 

Local and Regional Sites: Other

Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay http://www.alliancechesbay.org Building and fostering partnerships to protect the Bay

Blue Water Baltimore  www.bluewaterbaltimore.org  Protecting and restoring streams and rivers in the Baltimore area

Chesapeake Bay Foundation www.cbf.org Fights for strong and effective laws and regulations

Chesapeake Bay Program http://www.chesapeakebay.net A partnership to restore the Chesapeake Bay

Chesapeake Bay Trust www.cbtrust.org Provides grants to congregations and other groups

Chesapeake Climate Action Network www.chesapeakeclimate.org Dedicated to fighting global warming

Choose Clean Water Coalition www.choosecleanwater.org Advocates for restoring the Chesapeake Bay.

Maryland Environmental Health Network http://mdehn.org Working for a healthier environment for healthier people

 

 

National and International Organizations: Faith-based

Association for Religion & Ecology www.arecology.org

Climate Crisis Coalition www.climatecrisiscoalition.org , www.climateusa.org

Coalition on the Environment and Jewish Life http://www.coejl.org/index.php

Earth Ministry www.earthministry.org

Eco-Justice Ministries www.eco-justice.org

Episcopalian Ecological Network http://eenonline.org

Evangelical Environmental Network www.creationcare.org

Green Faith www.greenfaith.org

Islamic Foundation for Ecology & Environmental Sciences www.ifees.org.uk

Lutherans Restoring Creation www.lutheransrestoringcreation.org/

National Council of Churches Creation Justice Ministries www.creationjustice.org

National Religious Partnership for the Environment www.nrpe.org

North American Coalition for Christianity & Ecology www.nacce.org

Presbyterians for Restoring Creation www.presbyearthcare.org

Quaker Earth Care Witness www.quakerearthcare.org

United Methodist Women Environmental programs http://new.gbgm-umc.org/umw/work/social-action/environment

United States Conference of Catholic Bishops Environmental Justice Program http://www.usccb.org/sdwp/ejp

Unitarian Universalist Ministry for Earth www.uuministryforearth.org

Web of Creation www.webofcreation.org

 

Other Environmental Organizations

Climate Institute www.climate.org

Coop America Climate Action http://www.coopamerica.org/programs/climate/

Northwest Earth Institute www.nwei.org

Pew Center on Global Climate Change www.pewclimate.org

Union of Concerned Scientists www.ucsusa.org

 

Governmental agencies

National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration National Climatic Data Center www.NOAA.gov

US Environmental Protection Agency www.epa.gov

US Global Change Research Program www.globalchange.gov

US Department of Energy http://www.energy.gov/sciencetech/climatechange.htm

 

 

 

 

 


Showing 6 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • commented 2014-05-19 09:55:50 -0400
    Although a contractor list resource is desirable, and will one day hopefully be formalized through the Chesapeake Bay Landscape Professionals Certification program (date to be determined) which will certify contractors who are trained in storm water practices, one does not exist yet. I would highly recommend referring to county contractor lists. Two commonly used lists include Howard County and Montgomery County. These are not comprehensive but do at least meet the criteria for two county governments which are actively engaged in storm water remediation. Here are the links:
    Montgomery County: http://goo.gl/IHyWUI
    Howard County: http://goo.gl/gNNEd9
  • commented 2014-05-19 08:56:16 -0400
    There is a nonprofit organization called Koolhof Earth http://koolhofearth.org/, which spun off from an environmental consulting group, Straughn Environmental. I will email them and see if they could post some suggestions here. Thanks for inquiring!
  • commented 2014-05-19 07:12:02 -0400
    I am looking for contractors who are experienced in water runoff control installations of things like recharge chambers, pervious pavers, etc. It would be helpful, I think, if people in this network can provide accounts of their experience with contractors.
  • commented 2013-08-26 11:04:44 -0400
    Like what you did with this! Much easier to navigate.
  • commented 2013-08-25 09:27:30 -0400
    This is a very complete list
  • published this page in Resources 2013-07-25 11:22:06 -0400