Jodi Rose

  • published Maryland Senators Directory - 2018 2018-03-14 15:45:23 -0400

    Maryland Senators Directory - 2018

    Maryland State Senators

    Not sure who your State Senator is? Visit www.mdelect.net and enter your address to search for your representatives. 

    **Denotes Senators who are potential supporters, but have not confirmed yet. They need to hear your support of Senate Bill 610.

    Title Last Name First Name District Phone Number Email Address
    Senator Astle John 30

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3578

    (410) 841-3578, (301) 858-3578

    John.Astle@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Bates Gail 9 (301) 858-3671 Gail.Bates@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Benson Joanne 24

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3148

    (410) 841-3148, (301) 858-3148

    Joanne.Benson@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Brochin James 42

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3648

    (410) 841-3648, (301) 858-3648

    Jim.Brochin@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Cassilly Robert 34

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3158

    (410) 841-3158, (301) 858-3158

    Bob.Cassilly@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Conway Joan 43

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3145

    (410) 841-3145, (301) 858-3145

    Joan.Carter.Conway@senate.state.md.us
    Senator

    Currie**

    Ulysses 25

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3127

    (301) 858-3127, (410) 841-3127

    Ulysses.Currie@senate.state.md.us
    Senator DeGrange** James E 32

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3593

    (410) 841-3593, (301) 858-3593

    James.DeGrange@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Eckardt** Adelaide 37

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3590

    (410) 841-3590, (301) 858-3590

    Adelaide.Eckardt@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Edwards George 1

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3565

    (410) 841-3565, (301) 858-3565 

    George.Edwards@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Feldman Brian 15

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3169

    (410) 841-3169, (301) 858-3169

    Brian.Feldman@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Ferguson Bill 46

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3600

    (410) 841-3600, (301) 858-3600

    Bill.Ferguson@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Guzzone Guy 13

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3572

    (410) 841-3572, (301) 858-3572

    Guy.Guzzone@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Hershey Stephen S 36

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3639

    (410) 841-3639, (301) 858-3639

    Steve.Hershey@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Hough Michael 4

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3704

    (410) 841-3704, (301) 858-3704

    Michael.Hough@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Jennings JB 7

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3706

    (410) 841-3706, (301) 858-3706

    JB.Jennings@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Kagan** Cheryl 17

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3134

    (410) 841-3134, (301) 858-3134

    Cheryl.Kagan@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Kasemeyer** Edward 12

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3653

    (410) 841-3653, (301) 858-3653

    Edward.Kasemeyer@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Kelley Delores 10

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3606

    (410) 841-3606, (301) 858-3606

    Delores.Kelley@senate.state.md.us
    Senator King Nancy 39

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3686

    (410) 841-3686, (301) 858-3686

    Nancy.King@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Klausmeier** Katherine 8

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3620

    (410) 841-3620, (301) 858-3620

    Katherine.Klausmeier@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Lee Susan 16

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3124

    (410) 841-3124, (301) 858-3124

    Susan.Lee@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Madaleno Richard S 18

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3137

    (410) 841-3137, (301) 858-3137

    Richard.Madaleno@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Manno Roger 19

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3151

    (410) 841-3151, (301) 858-3151

    Roger.Manno@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Mathias James N 38

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3645

    (410) 841-3645, (301) 858-3645

    James.Mathias@senate.state.md.us
    Senator McFadden Nathaniel 45

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3165

    (410) 841-3165, (301) 858-3165

    Nathaniel.McFadden@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Middleton** Thomas 28

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3616

    (410) 841-3616, (301) 858-3616

    Thomas.Mclain.Middleton@senate.state.md.us
    Senate President Miller Thomas V. Mike 27

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3700

    (410) 841-3700, (301) 858-3700

    thomas.v.mike.miller@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Muse Anthony 26

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3092

    (410) 841-3092, (301) 858-3092

    Anthony.Muse@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Nathan-Pulliam Shirley 44

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3612

    (410) 841-3612, (301) 858-3612

    Shirley.Nathan.Pulliam@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Oaks Nathaniel 41

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3697

    (410) 841-3697, (301) 858-3697

    Nathaniel.Oaks@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Peters** Douglas J 23

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3631

    (410) 841-3631, (301) 858-3631

    Douglas.Peters@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Pinsky Paul 22

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3155

    (410) 841-3155, (301) 858-3155

    Paul.Pinsky@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Ramirez Victor 47

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3745

    (410) 841-3745, (301) 858-3745

    Victor.Ramirez@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Ready Justin 5

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3683

    (410) 841-3683, (301) 858-3683

    Justin.Ready@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Reilly Edward 33

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3568

    (410) 841-3568, (301) 858-3568

    Edward.Reilly@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Robinson Barbara 40

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3656

    (410) 841-3656, (301) 858-3656

    Barbara.Robinson@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Rosapepe Jim 21

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3141

    (410) 841-3141, (301) 858-3141

    Jim.Rosapepe@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Salling Johnny 6

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3587

    (410) 841-3587, (301) 858-3587

    JohnnyRay.Salling@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Serafini Andrew 2

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3903

    (410) 841-3903, (301) 858-3903

    Andrew.Serafini@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Simonaire Bryan 31

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3658

    (410) 841-3658, (301) 858-3658

    Bryan.Simonaire@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Smith William 20

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3634

    (410) 841-3634, (301) 858-3634

    Will.Smith@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Waugh Steve 29

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3673 

    (410) 841-3673, (301) 858-3673

    Steve.Waugh@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Young Ronald 3

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3575

    (410) 841-3575, (301) 858-3575

    Ronald.Young@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Zirkin** Bobby 11

    1-800-492-7122, ext. 3131

    (410) 841-3131, (301) 858-3131

    Bobby.Zirkin@senate.state.md.us
    Senator Zucker Craig 14

    1-800-492-7122 ext. 3625

    (410) 841-3625, (301) 858-3625

    craig.zucker@senate.state.md.us

  • Petition in Support of Forest Conservation Act Amendments

    This letter, and a list of all signatories, will be sent to all Members of House Environment and Transportation Committee, and Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee in during the 2018 Maryland Legislative Session. To learn more about this legislation, click here


     

    263 signatures

    Forest Conservation Act Amendments

    Thou_Shall_Not1.jpg

    Senate Bill 610/ House Bill 766

    As a person of faith who respects the sanctity of the Earth and the whole web of life, I am writing to ask for your support for the Forest Conservation Act amendments, SB 610/HB 766.

    Children once played easily in trees in their back yard, at a park down the street, or at Grandma’s house. But, today, forests are hard to find – when was the last time you spotted a child climbing a tree?

    Over the past eight years, over 14,000 acres of forest have been lost due to development. Forests play a crucial role in stabilizing soil, improve water quality, offer important mammal habitats, and reduce ambient air temperatures with cooling shade. The Forest Conservation Act amendments will help protect priority forests for future generations.

    The loss of tree canopy is felt by the general public and future generations, while developers profit from transforming land away from its natural state. Over the past three years, thousands of people of faith have planted over 13,000 trees at their churches, synagogues, and temples. However, for every 1 acre of forest planted by the faith community, Maryland lost 40 acres. Society cannot keep up with this pace of forest decimation. We need your help.

    Please support Forest Conservation Act amendments to strengthen it so that we can truly protect forests and reverse this alarming trend.

    We shall not steal trees from the next generation. Can we count on you to fight for sustained forest cover by supporting this bill?

    Please vote in support of the Forest Conservation Act Amendments.

    Add signature

  • published Advocacy 2017-05-30 09:31:52 -0400

    Advocacy

    Photo by Jerry Kiesewetter on UnsplashActing from our faith convictions, we join our voices with others in the region who call for responsible public policies that promote healthy watersheds.

    To bring about major change, public policies are needed to undo the harm that has been done to our environment, specifically the watersheds of the Chesapeake region. We citizens have a moral obligation to engage in the political process in ways that align with our values.

    What Can You Do?


    2018 Maryland Legislative Update

    This was a disappointing session for many environmental bills. Here’s a summary of how things went in the 2018 Maryland Legislative Session.

    greencheckmark.pngBills that Passed

    None of the bills IPC was tracking passed this legislative session. A full review of all environmental legislation this session is provided by the Maryland League of Conservation Voters here

     

    redcircle.pngBills that Didn’t Pass

    SB610/HB766 - Forest Conservation Act Amendments – This bill received huge grassroots support and caught the attention of many legislators, but did not pass. After first being amended to be a "Task Force Bill", which would require legislators to study the issue of forest losses in Maryland, House leaders watered down the Task Force Bill so significantly that the Senate did not like it. The last version of the Task Force Bill passed the House, but the Senate chose not to pass it. 

    Here's how the faith community engaged:

    The Rev. Diana Caroll of St. Luke’s Episcopal Church of Eastport testified at the House hearing on February 21st in support of the Forest Conservation Act amendments. The Rev. Sue Lowcock-Harris of First Presbyterian Church of Howard County had this letter-to-the-editor "Thou Shall Not Steal Trees" published in the Bay Weekly about the moral duty to protect forests. The Rev. Franklin Lance of Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church and director of the Central Maryland Ecumenical Council secured a letter signed by the leaders of 6 major denominations (United Church of Christ, United Methodist Church, Evangelical Lutheran Church of America Maryland-Delaware Synod, Episcopal Diocese of Maryland, Archdiocese of Baltimore, and Presbytery of Baltimore-PCUSA). Montgomery County faithful citizens spoke with their state delegate and Chair of the House Environmental Committee Del. Kumar Barve about the importance of forest protection. Finally, 262 faithful signed this petition supporting amendments to strengthen the Forest Conservation Act – the signatures were submitted as written testimony to state officials. Many forwarded it to friends and family and posted on social media about it.

    SB651/HB538 - Ban on Expanded Polystyrene – This was never brought up for a formal vote in the House Environment Committee, despite intense grassroots support including from youth in Baltimore City. An unfavorable vote in the Senate Finance Committee killed the bill before crossover date.

    Here's how the faith community engaged: 36 congregations signed a letter reporting to their state delegates that they had already stopped using foam food products and thus a statewide ban was not a crazy idea! Behind each one of these congregations was a green leader at that congregation who took the time to confirm with their congregation that in fact they have stopped using Styrofoam, and added their names to the list. 


  • published Giving Tuesday Splash Page 2016-11-16 00:19:34 -0500

       Giving_Tuesday.jpg

    Join the movement!

    Be a GIVER on Giving Tuesday, November 29th!

     We need your help to change more hearts and restore more sacred waters!

    Visit our Donate page!

    CJC_Family.jpg


  • signed up on Stay Connected 2016-06-03 16:10:13 -0400

    Connect with Interfaith Partners for the Chesapeake

    • Want to stay in the loop about upcoming grant opportunities and workshops?
    • Want to stay connected with other congregations in your region or your denomination? 
    • Want to connect with secular organizations in your region who can support your congregation's efforts?

    IPC can help you with all of this!

    Complete the form below to maintain an up-to-date profile in our database so that when opportunities for collaboration arise, we can get in touch with you. Help IPC help you!

    Sign up

  • commented on Menu For Action 2015-04-06 08:26:41 -0400
    Yes, Chris, we’re so excited to see those projects come to life! I see an AA County House of Worship driving tour event in the future! We need to start planning something like that…

  • answered 2015-03-19 09:10:54 -0400
    Q: Are you confident that your congregation will begin to form a green ministry?
    A: Yes

    Prince George's County Pre-survey

    This brief survey (23 questions) will help us understand your level of familiarity with the topics to be discussed at the workshop so that we can prepare properly. They are Yes-No questions, and it should take you about 5 minutes to complete. There is one question per page. Thank you for your time!

    Take the survey

  • answered 2014-11-17 14:18:26 -0500
    Q: Would you be interested in serving on a planning committee for such a gathering?
    A: No

    2015 Faith Community Watershed Gathering Survey

    Interfaith Partners for the Chesapeake wants to serve you well. Please tell us what you think about our providing gatherings for people of faith interested in working on improving watershed health.

    Take the survey

  • answered yes 2014-07-24 14:34:21 -0400
    Q: Would you be willing to volunteer to help coordinate this experience for your congregation or in your region?
    A: yes

    Faith-Based Field Trips

    IPC is considering developing an outdoor educational experience with a spiritual context as a means of helping faith advocates develop a greater sense of place within their watershed community. Such an experience might take place on the congregation's property, nearby natural areas, local streams or waterways, and could include hiking, biking, canoeing or kayaking, boating or even fishing.

    Your answers will not be public, but will be retained in our database for use in development of this program. 

    Thank you for taking some time to answer these questions to help inform the development of such a program!

    Take the survey

  • published Catholic Review Highlights Polluted Runoff in Media 2014-07-22 17:27:45 -0400

    Catholic Review Highlights Polluted Runoff

    As Blue Water Congregations gets underway, the Catholic Review highlights the underlying message that the faith community is uniquely called to care for Creation. 

    CATHOLIC REVIEW ARTICLE


  • commented on On Stormwater Fees 2014-03-27 17:14:25 -0400
    Absolutely, Ann! One of the things we talk about when we go out to congregations and faith leaders is that we live together in a “watershed community.” Watersheds know no city boundaries, no legislative districts, no church boundaries. Watersheds follow the contours of the land and answer only to their Creator. We are in this together and we are connected to each other through our watershed communities. If we could see each other as fellow brothers and sisters in a shared watershed, we might stop fighting over politics and start working together for solutions that reflect love to our Creator and to each other.

  • commented on wttform 2014-03-10 16:59:26 -0400
    Looking forward to this!

  • commented on FAE report 2013-11-08 15:34:36 -0500
    Thanks Carl! Your contributions to the day were fantastic! When do we get to do this again?!?

  • commented on Organizations 2014-05-19 08:56:16 -0400
    There is a nonprofit organization called Koolhof Earth http://koolhofearth.org/, which spun off from an environmental consulting group, Straughn Environmental. I will email them and see if they could post some suggestions here. Thanks for inquiring!

Life is short, gotta make every minute count!